New Year…a bit late

Happy New Year!

Yes, I am a couple of days late.

But who cares, as my writer friend Madeleine Michell points out in her blog, cleverboots.wordpress.com, we can have a “new year” whenever we choose to do so. Just because the rest of the world decides to wake up with a hangover on January first and start working out, dieting, organizing clutter, and paying off debt does not mean we are all beholden to that date. Perhaps that date is not right for many of us. And yet, why should we have to wait a whole year to make a new beginning?

No.

My New Year is starting today, January 3rd, 2014.

Like many of you, I have passions and desires in life that go far beyond the goals that I have already accomplished. One of these is to become a published author. I have played around with it for a few years, starting (and quitting) blogs, taking a writing workshop, scouring Writers Digest magazines, and even submitting a few articles for publication (granted, I have yet to be published beyond a couple of parenting web sites, but at least a couple of people out there thought my writing wasn’t too bad to appear on their sites!)

But this year, I want to do more, be more, and produce more.

Don’t get me wrong.
I am very content. My life is extremely blessed. If I were to walk into the path of a Greyhound bus tomorrow, I would have no regrets (other than my unfortunate hair color choice back in 1999, but I digress).

But I have never believed in “settling”. As long as I am still on this earth, God still has work for me to do. And some of my goals in life involve writing. In fact, my family is so committed to supporting me in these goals that they got me a VERY nice laptop a couple of weeks ago. So I have very little in the way of excuses to keep me from pursuing my goals.

So today, when I stumbled across a challenge that I found in an email from Writer’s Market, I decided that I would act on it, even if I am a few days late.
So, here it goes. These are my writing goals for 2014:

1. Complete a 50,000 manuscript before my 20th Anniversary.
2. Get published in at least 5 publications (at least 3 by my
birthday).
3. Write at least 3 blog posts a week.
4. Finish the exercises in “Writing the Breakout Novel” workbook.
5. Enter 4 writing contests (one each quarter) at a minimum.
6. Read 10 novels (at least).
7. Read 5 writing books.

I am interested in knowing what other people’s goals are. Feel free to post your goals in the comments below. And have a Happy New Year…whenever you choose for it to begin!

2 thoughts on “New Year…a bit late

Leave a Reply

