Outlander…the trailer is here!

If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, you will likely know that I currently have an obsession with the Outlander book series by Diana Gabaldon.  This epic drama/romance/sci-fi/whatever series is currently being made into a tv series on Starz and directed by Ron Moore.  I am just giddy with excitement about this…which is completely unlike me!

I think one of the things that has caught my attention the most is the author herself.  Diana Gabaldon has an amazing gift for weaving stories and bringing characters to life.  Her attention to detail is impeccable and her historical accuracy points to enormous amounts of research.  Frankly, I am in awe.

If you are interested in what all the fuss is about regarding Outlander, you can read a digital version of it for a limited time for just $1.99 with the following link: www.sendtheseal.com

Now I should probably add one disclaimer.  Outlander is not light- hearted at all.  There is graphic violence and steamy adult material.  But I do not find it to be casual or gratuitous.  This is a piece of historical fiction, and the details paint a picture of the harsh life of 18th century Scottish highland life.   But if you are easily offended by such material, I would ask you to proceed with caution.

Last night there was a fan event in L.A. celebrating the upcoming Starz production.  Moore and Gabaldon were on stage as were the two leading actors, Sam Heughan and Caitriona Balfe.  They took questions from the audience as well as several from social media.  Most of the questions were related to the tv production, of course.  I would love to have been there to ask a few questions of my own, especially of Gabaldon.

I am curious.  Who is your favorite author and what would you ask him or her if you were given the opportunity?  Here are a few of mine:

1. How do you balance your writing time with your reading time…not to mention everything else that life demands?

2. Did you have plans and ideas for the later books when you first began writing Outlander, or did those fall into place only after you realized that Outlander would be successful?

3. What would be your advice to a beginning novelist?

4. What type of writing did you do before you wrote Outlander?

Fortunately, there is a contest taking place right now that allows people the opportunity to win a chance to meet Gabaldon and an early copy of her latest book.  If you are interested in entering the contest, it is at the same link I provided at the beginning of this post: www.sendtheseal.com.

And if you’d like to see the trailer:

http://www.starz.com/videos/embed/379#

2 thoughts on “Outlander…the trailer is here!

  1. I have been a fan of Diana Gabaldon for several years. Like you, Sadie, I am in awe of Diana and the way she writes. I’ve seen her speak twice, both times at the Decatur Book Festival over Labor Day weekend in Decatur, GA. She is a wonderful speaker and her story is so interesting. She is a scientist who always loved story telling. I will say that the first time I heard her speak (on one of her podcasts many years ago) I was surprised by her voice. It was nothing like I had imagined. To me she sounds like Katherine Hepburn. Her story about how Outlander was first published is very interesting. She was on an old compuserve blog for aspiring writers and the other members talked her into sharing part of work. She said that she was writing the story just to see if she could write a novel and didn’t think anyone else would read it. So why not include time travel? The rest is history….someone on the blog connected her with a publisher, etc. I won’t try to recount all the details because I may get some wrong. She has a website http://www.DianaGabaldon.com where you can read her history. One of the things I found interesting when listening to her is her method for writing. Again, I hope I have this correct. She writes in blocks, as the characters speak to her. Then she arranges these blocks into the story. I imagine one of those old small games, about 3 x 3, where you push the tiles around to put the numbers or letters in order. i.e. she does not have an outline and does not write the story in order. Although I do think she said she has an idea of where things are going and how the series will end. One question we all want answered, and one that she promises will be answered, is who was the ghost in the first book?

    1. I have heard some of her interviews as well. I agree…her voice is so unique and interrsting to hear. I think it would be amazing to spend an afternoon picking her brain! (Which is why I have entered the contest!) Thanks for the awesome
      comments!

Leave a Reply

