Finding My Focus

This might be stating the obvious, but I have not solidified the focus of this blog yet. Many fellow bloggers have laser focus on a particular part of life. For example, one of my favorite bloggers writes about food and life as an Army wife. Therefore, her blog is called the TheFoodieArmyWife.com. Another writes about kids and mothering. Hers is called RantsFromMommyland.com.

So, I am trying to narrow my focus as well. Up until now, I have really just written about anything that happens to be on my mind at the time. I’m sure I will continue to do that a bit. After all, its MY blog.

But, I want you to get something out of it as well. I want you to be able to take something away and not feel that your time spent on my  intellectually stimulating, professionally astute articles is well-spent. (Did you catch the self-deprecating sarcasm there? Oh good.)

So, in the interest of providing something of value to you, I will start sharing things that have proven valuable to me in my pursuit of what I want to do “when I grow up.”

One of my favorite quotes comes from Charlie “Tremendous” Jones. I have never read any of his work, but I often hear him quoted by one of my favorite authors/speakers, Dave Ramsey.  Jones says ““You are the same today that you are going to be five years from now except for two things:  the people with whom you associate and the books you read.”

So what are you reading? I think it is important to always be reading something inspirational, something professional, and something fun. Each of these areas of life is important to helping us stay whole and balanced. It doesn’t matter how fast you read, just read.

Audiobooks are a great resource as well. For a busy taxi mom like me, audiobooks allow me to “read” while doing housework, picking up kids from school, and waiting for them at practices (Just please don’t listen to the 50 Shades series with your 10 year old in the car. I don’t know why I felt the need to write that last sentence, but there it is. Just don’t do it.);

I digress. Right now I am listening to Finding Your Element by Sir Ken Robinson. I had never heard of this guy and just stumbled upon his book while perusing Audible.com. But apparently he has a crazy huge following from TED talks.

I’ll let you know what I thought of the book when I am done. But it seems like a great inspirational read so far.

As for “fun,” I am reading Insurgent by Veronica Roth. I am not as enthralled with it as my teenage daughters (and apparently the rest of America) were, but it’s an easy read. Still trying to decide if I am going to finish it.

So, I would love to know what you are reading that is helping you reach your personal goals. Do you read to learn? To relax? To be inspired? All of the above?

Leave a Reply

