Vision Boards

This post is going to be a quick one…for some reason the kids have this crazy notion that they need breakfast.  Psssssshhh…what’s up with THAT?

Anyway, one of the things I have heard goal-setting “gurus” and self-help professionals espouse is the benefit of creating a “vision board”. Essentially this is simply a collage of images, words, phrases, etc. that mean something to you for whatever reason. These images can come from magazines, newspapers, postcards, whatever. If you are making a goal-related vision board, the contents  should represent the things you hope to have in your life.

(An aside: many people have a new-agey approach to this type of activity. They talk about thinking things into existence, the law of attraction, and the power of the energy that we put out into the universe, blah, blah, blah… I do not subscribe to this type of belief. Anything that plays around with the spiritual realm without acknowledging God and His plan for my life is dangerous. I do not believe that God is a puppeteer pulling all the strings of my life. He allows me to have choice and make decisions. But when I spend time with Him in prayer, I can feel my soul relaxing into a profound sense of peace. It is within this framework that I work. )

The book I am currently reading, Finding Your Element, by Sir Ken Robinson, talks about creating a board that represents your life as it currently is.

I think this is a great idea.

It is all well and good to set goals. But we must have a clear idea of our starting point. If you want to go to Disneyworld and plug it into Google Maps on your computer, you will find its location perfectly, along with links to local attractions, travel accommodations, and hotels.

What you will not find is a set of directions. There is no way Google, however advanced the technology, can tell you how to get there if it doesn’t know where you are starting.

In the same way, we must know where we are starting before we can follow any kind of map, guide, or set of directions.

In that spirit, I am going to attempt to create one of these collages myself…kind of a grown up arts and crafts / therapy session. This should be entertaining!

(This ended up being much longer than I expected. But you probably are not surprised, if you know me at all!)

Have you ever created a vision board? If so, how did it help you to clarify your goals?

Leave a Reply

