Dare to Dream

In my last post I referred to a couple of authors who have written a book that I love. Holly Scherer and Kathie Hightower, authors of “Help! I’m a Military Spouse: I Get a Life Too!” and “Military Spouse Journey” have really tapped into the hearts of spouses who want to pursue their own ambitions while being supportive of their service members. They have learned and shared the art of balancing the seemingly unrelated goals of a successful military career and a successful civilian career (or other pursuits…not everything is focused on career aspirations).

One of the things that they tout the most is a “Dare to Dream” group. This is essentially a support group of 5 or 6 people who meet, discuss their dreams and goals, write down each other’s goals, and hold each other accountable for moving forward. I love this concept!

I have used this blog as a bit of a “Dare to Dream” online presence. And I will continue to do so. But I look forward to starting my own “Dare to Dream” group when we move in a couple of months. I know that I could do it now, but I don’t want to start it up only to disrupt it with moving away.  But I am writing about it here, because I don’t want, in the frenzy of moving, to forget about it. It is one of the first things I plan to do once I am settled.

Do you have a group of friends who could be your “Dare to Dream” partners? Even if it’s only one or two other people, consider getting together and beginning this dialogue and support. Each of those people might know someone who wants to join. I would say to keep it small, so you have enough time to address everyone’s dreams but large enough that it doesn’t fall apart if one or two have to drop out for some reason.

Also, please meet in real life…flesh and blood. And ban cell phone use during your meetings. You deserve to have someone REALLY listen to you and support you…and you should do the same for others.

If you are already a part of a group like this, I would love to hear about it and what you have done to make it successful. Please leave and tips, tricks or ideas in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

