“The Happiness Project”

I tend to be “late to the party” when it comes to getting involved in social movements, new ideas, and popular trends. With that in mind, I expect that you may have already heard of, and may have already read and implemented, the newest book on my bookshelf: “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin.

CAM00974

 

This book is the record of Mrs. Rubin’s attempt to inject more happiness into her life. She does not suffer from depression or have any glaring “issues” to work through. She just wants to bring more happiness, more appreciation, more joy into her life.

I think many of us in the Western world can relate to this feeling. We know that we are living blessed lives. We don’t have to wonder where we are getting our next meal. We have roofs over our heads. We are not living in the middle of a war zone. And we have the freedoms in this country to  pursue our own goals and desires (although it seems these are being eroded by the government…but that’s for a different post!) I digress.

We know that there are many, many people out there who have it far worse than we do. So why do we tend to feel the same level of discontent when making $100,000 as we do when we make $30,000? Why do we feel just as frustrated when we have been married for 15 years as we do when we were single and hadn’t had a date in 6 months? Why do we feel just as overwhelmed with the demands of life when we have a job and three children as we do when we are just starting out as adults?

I don’t think that there is a definitive answer to this, although this has become a popular topic of study in the world of psychology. And maybe the “why” doesn’t really matter.

The real question is, “So, what are you going to do about it?”

With this question in mind, I am working my way through this book and implementing some of the habits Rubin suggests.  I am looking forward to seeing if there is a “change” of sorts. I figure it can’t hurt, and if nothing else, it gives me more fodder for blog posts…and that makes me happy!

Have you ever tried a “Happiness Project”? If so, I’d love to hear if and how it changed things for you.

Have a great day, and don’t forget to leave a comment and to follow me on Twitter and Facebook!

One thought on ““The Happiness Project”

  1. Thank you,through selfless sharing of ideas, thoughts and experiences that will make our world a better place to live. Thank you and hope that you will enjoy what I posted and post. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

