Random thoughts about moving and finding a career

So, obviously, I’m not very consistent with this whole blogging “thing”.  In my defense, our family has moved three times in the past three years.  And moving a family of eight that often is no simple feat.

As a matter of fact, it is exhausting.

Researching schools, finding a place to live, changing jobs, securing all necessary documents, the actual pack-up and travel time, living in hotels, helping kids adjust to the constant change, learning a new city, finding sports and music lessons for the kids, finding new babysitters, dentists, churches, hairdressers, etc.

All of these things and much more make moving a real disruption in a family’s life.  Finding a rhythm again once you have settled in can take time.  And I think the effects are cumulative.  As a matter of fact, I would love to see a study done on the stress levels of families that move frequently.  I would be willing to bet that the level of stress-related illness goes up with each move a family makes.

Being a stay-at home-mom has allowed me a few freedoms that not everyone has. I don’t have to worry about finding a new job or regular child care.  I have a little more time to spend helping the kids get settled into their activities and setting up the house.

And yet, I feel the strain of the move as much as anyone else.

This most recent move has had its own share of stressors.  We are in the middle of helping our twins navigate the college application process.  Our youngest has been potty-training. And there are 3 other children in the middle who have their sports and other activities to consider. My husband’s job, while rewarding, is quite demanding, even though he is not currently deployed.

And, depending on the needs of the Army over the next few years, the prospect of retirement is a reality that we are having to face more and more.

But I’m not ready to retire. I haven’t even started!

I am getting to that point where I have to start focusing in on some sort of career path. Yet I have no idea what I am going to do.

I love talking to and learning from creative people.  I have friends who are food bloggers, photographers, artists, seamstresses, writers, chefs, jewelry designers, etc.  And they all seem to love what they do.

I also have friends who are nurses, lawyers, administrative assistants, teachers, coaches, trainers, small business owners, etc.  And they all seem to love what they do as well.

And all of these things sound fascinating and rewarding.

So how do I settle on one thing?

I think that moving around so much has contributed to my “confusion” over what to do professionally.  It has been easy to sit back like Scarlet O’Hara and “think about that tomorrow.”

But “tomorrow” is getting closer and closer. As a matter-of-fact, it is here. It is time for me to really focus and figure out, as the name of my blog states, what I am going to do “when I grow up”.

I’m curious…how did you settle in on your career path? What steps did you take to bring your dreams of a rewarding career into reality?

 

 

Leave a Reply

