Putting off things that bring joy?

This post is going to be (relatively) short and sweet but as General Patton, in his ruthless wisdom, observed, “A good plan violently executed now is better than a perfect plan executed next week.”

I have not blogged regularly in several months, and I admit that I miss it.

This gets me to thinking: Am I the only one who seems to put off those things that really bring joy and meaning to life? Or is this a common phenomenon among mothers and other nurturers?

If I had to guess, I would say that the latter is true.

There are several activities that bring joy to my life that I have put off for many, many  weeks and months.  ( exercising, writing, crafting, attending classes that interest me, playing piano, spending time with friends, etc.)

For some reason, we have this idea that if we are enjoying an activity, it must not be worthwhile. We think that something must feel “sacrificial” in order to be of value.

And we spend time comparing how busy, tired, overwhelmed, and self-sacrificing we are with others…as if being rested, energetic, and peaceful means we are doing something wrong, selfish, or excessively indulgent.

I don’t think that this is how we are meant to be.  And yet it is so easy, as mothers, to slip back into this mentality. The needs (and wants) of the little (or not-so-little) people in our lives seem to take precedence over our needs and wants. And as parents, we understand that it is our responsibilities to attend to our children’s needs.

I think the key is to not allow another person’s “wants” to trump our “needs.”

How to do that? That is a subject for a much longer blog post.

 

Leave a Reply

