Lent…a little different this time

Lent is upon us again, and it has hit me like a ton of bricks this time.ashwed

Why?

Well, I have been pretty remiss in my spiritual walk lately. In fact, I have been practically absent when it comes time to spending time with God.  My prayer time has been non-existent, and I have just barely made it to Sunday Mass (some weeks, I haven’t even done that…which is a BIG no-no for us Catholics…at least without a very, very good reason).

The funny thing is, I have noticed the other areas of my self-care have been non-existent as well.

Exercise? What’s that?

Eating clean? PSHAW!!

Keeping the house orderly? I can’t even go there right now.

Here’s the thing:  a priest once asked me, “If you used to feel close to God, but you no longer do, you have to ask yourself one question…who moved?”

The answer to that question is what hit me so hard. I have moved so far away from the things that I know are important and meaningful and valuable in creating a rewarding and fulfilling life.

Now, orderly closets don’t necessarily make me happy. But not having to argue with the teenagers about where their JROTC uniform skirts are…THAT makes me happy.

Eating broccoli instead of Tostito’s doesn’t float my boat, but it does make me feel better later when I try on my jeans.

And prayer time may not be as exciting as Facebook, or socializing, or whatever, but it centers me and makes me feel more alive and appreciative of my surroundings.  And THIS is what leads to real fulfillment, purpose, or whatever you want to call it.

Unfortunately,  I think we Americans focus too much on trying to be fulfilled in our everyday mundane tasks. We have this idea that if we aren’t being “fed” by our jobs, then we should be looking elsewhere. We want every day to be filled with purpose and profound meaning. But sometimes, we just need to wipe the three-year-old’s nose, put the groceries away, or do the gosh darn taxes.

The phenomenon of “seeking purpose” was demonstrated in a little article called Why Generation Y Yuppies Are Unhappy I stumbled across on Facebook, of all places.  And it has caused more dissatisfaction than satisfaction.

Read the article here on the creative blog “Wait But Why”.

I don’t know about you, but I can identify a bit with “Lucy”.  But I would rather not. There is so much in life to appreciate.  I have wonderful friends, the most amazing family, and blessings beyond compare.

Therefore, for Lent, I am “giving up” the “search” for purpose, and rather, I am going to do my best to be a good wife, mother, friend, volunteer, and most importantly, Catholic woman…meaning, I am going to get my act together and move closer to God again. (Please pray for me!)

And I will pray for you on your Lenten journey!

Leave a Reply

